Some Whitefish History

Whitefish History

Whitefish began as a fur trading center in the late 1800's. It later flourished with the logging industry and the Great Northern Railway. In 1919 the "Ding-Dong Ordinance" was made law. This 9:00 p.m. curfew for children is still in effect today, although updated to 10:00 p.m. Listen for the siren located in the tower of the City Hall!

Downtown offers many historic buildings with interesting facades. Casey's, built in 1903, is the oldest building. The Home at 328 Central, which was built in 1907, was the first brick building in Whitefish. The Bulldog Saloon was once more genteelly named the Pastime Bar. "Pastimes" included boxing matches that took place in the hall above. Make a rest-stop in the Great Northern Bar and take in its collection of historic Whitefish business signs, or, check out an old apothecary display in the rear of the Chalet City Pharmacy. On the corner of 4th and Central, Whitefish boasts one of the few buildings in Montana designed by Frank Lloyd Wright. Also of general epicurean interest is the Great Northern microbrewery building where Black Star beer is made.

Whitefish Mountain Resort

A ski and summer resort offering winter (skiing, snowboarding, tubing) and summer (mountain biking, hiking on the Danny On trail system)


Comments are closed.